38 Hour Basic Course
The basic course consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training. The student receives one-on-one behind-the-wheel training with a certified instructor. The basic course is required for 15, 16 & 17 year olds and meets the minimum requirements of the State of Louisiana.
Students that are 14 years and 9 months old can now take the 38 hour driver education class. Behind the wheel training cannot be done until their 15th birthday.
14 Hour Course
The 14 Hour Course is 6 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hour of behind the wheel instruction, this course is required by the State of Louisiana for first time driver's 18 years and older.
The classroom instruction consists of state and federal laws, rules and regulation, drug and alcohol abuse, defensive driving strategies, signs, signals and road markings.
Behind The Wheel
The student will receive one-on-one behind the wheel instruction with a Licensed Drivers Education Instructor. During the instructional period the student will experience driving in rural, city, highway conditions.
The instructor will also cover several topics of driving including, managing distractions, driving conditions, unsafe driving behaviors, aggressive driving, signs, signals, and roadway markings.
Defensive Driving and Alcohol/Defensive Driving Awareness Courses
The Defensive Driving Course is 4 hours and covers several topics of driving including, managing distractions, driving conditions, unsafe driving behaviors, aggressive driving, signs, signals, and roadway markings.
The Alcohol/Defensive Driving Awareness is a 4 hour course that will cover several topics of the effect of alcohol consumption including negative drinking outcomes, alcohol and the brain, alcohol laws, managing distractions, driving conditions, signs, signals, and roadway markings.